Contact the

About Bowls USA

USLBA Constitution and By-Laws

A PDF copy of the most recent (October 2010) Constitution and By-Laws may be viewed or downloaded here.
(requires Acrobat Reader).

In the USA, the sport of lawn bowls is governed by Bowls USA, an all volunteer group of officers and councilors. The main forms of communication with members is through the divisions, clubs and this website. The officers and councilors meet in person at least once a year at an annual board meeting, usually just before the U.S. Open Tournament

Included below are the Bowls USA officers; councilors; division presidents & secretaries; and Bowls USA committee heads.


Heather StewartPresident - Heather Stewart
Heather Stewart and her husband, Jerry  were fortunate to watch a tournament at Laguna Beach Lawn Bowling Club in 1991 and decided that this would be a game that they could both enjoy.  Following lessons they joined Laguna Beach and this remains Heather’s home club.
In the years since joining, Heather has had the opportunity to give back to the sport her time, at her club and both at the Division and National level.  Also having had the privilege of bowling for Team USA, she has competed overseas in numerous events.
Professionally she works as a Registered Nurse in a Surgery department. 


Heather StewartVice President - Richard Broad
First came across Bowling in the US when visiting Woodland Park in Seattle and being invited to try it. The rest as they say… For over 20 years now Richard has enjoyed both the social and competitive sides of Lawn Bowls and has felt most fortunate to have represented Team USA all over the world. Still an active Antique Restorer and former Auctioneer, Richard tries not to let work interfere with his bowling.


Heather Stewart2nd Vice President - Dee McSparran
From the first introductory lesson in 2004, Dee was hooked and has since developed a passion for the sport of bowls. Bowling with, among, and against the best bowlers in the US has been instrumental to her skill development and has allowed her the opportunity to travel overseas to compete against many of the world's best bowlers in international events. Aside from bowling, an interest in the welfare of the organization became another passion. Retired with a background in office administration, Dee volunteers many hours of admin support to division and national committees. She is thankful to have a supportive family who respect her passions and forgive her neglect.


Janice Bell Secretary - Janice Bell
Janice Bell started lawn bowling in the summer of 2007 at Jefferson Park LBC in Seattle. She is the Bowls USA National Secretary and a certified umpire. Janice first represented Team USA at the 2011 Atlantic Championships in Cyprus, as skip in pairs and fours, earning bronze medals in both events. In 2012, she took a bronze medal in women's pairs and silver in mixed rinks at the Dutch Open in Haarlem, The Netherlands. Janice is a member of the Northwest Division and the South Central Division. This fall, she is moving to Davis CA and will join the PIMD.


Tony GreenbergTreasurer - Tony Greenberg
Tony Greenberg decided to accept the Treasurers position, because he wanted to do his share and give something back to the game that brings him so much pleasure. He hopes that his vast Accounting and Auditing experience, both in the private and public sectors, will enable him to carry out his duties and perhaps enhance the current policies and procedures, as well as providing some fresh and innovative ideas to the Executive Board. He is honored to be part of the National Association, with so many distinguished Bowls USA Officers, Councilors, Division Presidents & Secretaries and Bowls USA committee heads.



Central Max Cavender  maxcavender
Glorianne Mather browndeergolfer
Northeast Patrick Duffy acuralo
Veronica Sum vsum02
Northwest Pam Edwards edwardsp
Jeff Covell jeffreycovell
Pacific Ginger Harris peacecorps.ginger
Inter-Mountain Marcus Zeino sflbc
South Central Myra Wood dwood15
Rodger Green lawnbowlinggreen
Southeast Linda McDougall lbmcdo
Gary Williamson garywmson
Southwest Sam DeLisle sammarydel
Jan Hargraves mavericktj

Division Officers

Central Pres Anna Witt annamwitt23
Sec Pat Mueller mkepat
Northeast Pres Patrick Duffy acuralo
Sec Josh Sayer jsayermusic
Northwest Pres John Johnson contact
Sec Michael Werth secretary
Pacific Inter- Pres Pete Knopf petenann
Mountain Sec Frank Matyskiela frankmaty
South Central Pres George Ralston, Jr. gralstonjr
Sec Marie Frasca azmarieaz
Southeast Pres Beth Forbes bethforbe
Sec Christine Garbett chrisgarbett12
Southwest Pres Pat Gonzales pgonzales70
   Women Sec Alice Birkinshaw klaasje7
Southwest Pres Scott Roberts scottroberts1269
   Men Sec Tony Head brehead

Committee Chairs

Constitution & By-laws Colin Smith
Golden Bias Dee McSparran
Kottia Spangler
International Affairs Dee McSparran &
Neil Furman
Laws of the Sport Richard Broad bowlingbroad
National Championships Cheri Cabot ccabot2002
National Team Selection (men) Mert Isaacman mert
National Team Selection (women) Isabella Forbes idforbes1031
National Umpire In Chief Melanie Vizenor mavizenor
Newsletter Editor Cheri Cabot
Super Shots Bud Birkenseer budbirk
Website Dee McSparran deemcsparran

Webmaster Jim Semanek